2 comments on “Binoculars!

  1. Great! I like binoculars for the observation of variables, in fact I have, in total, made more observations with my binoculars than with telescopes. They are quicker, at least for me, than telescopes, so I get more observations done.

    Good selection of stars! As you say, you’ll be able to cover their whole range of variation. Also, there are almost always a couple of miras close to max that can be observed with binoculars. I follow T Cep, R Dra, R And, R Tri, R Aql, chi Cyg thorugh max using binos.

    Good luck with your new instrument! Hope you’ll get some dark skies. What latitude are you at? I’m in southern Sweden at 55degrees 42′.

    /Gustav

    • Hello Gustav and thanks for comment! Yes, there are more miras that are best observed with binoculars around their maximum. During last observing season, I was still observing mira -stars with a telescope, but because I live in an apartment house, it is quite difficult for me to get myself observing with telescope. That’s why I bought binoculars, now I can observe even from my balcony! Luckily I have pretty dark skies here, NELM is usually about 5,3-5,5. I’m living and observing in Turku (Åbo på svenska), Southwestern Finland at latitude 60. The sky is still too light for any serious observing, but it’s getting darker in late July.

Leave a Reply

