4 comments on “Plan for variable star observing for season 2016-2017

  1. Thanks for posting the rationale behind your decision, very interesting thoughts! I am also using this time of the year with almost no darkness to plan for the coming season, one in which variable stars are priority. I also see the need for limiting the program to just a few, in order for it to be both realistic and enjoyable. I have not yet come down to a definite list though, but that will happen soon. Good luck and clear skies in your variable star adventures!

  2. Thank you for commenting, Hernan! It will be interesting to see your list too, when you are ready with planning. I wish you too clear skies and good observing sessions under the stars!

  3. I agree with Hernán, interesting to read about your programme. It is, I think, a good strategy to limit one’s targets. In my experience, I have a core set of stars that I come back to more or less every season, while some others are dropped for whatever reason.

    Also, in addition to these type of SRs suitable for binocular observation, I sometimes also follow the brighter miras through maximum with binoculars. khi Cyg, for example, is on the rise to a summer/autumn max and is about to enter binocular territory at the moment.

    • Hello Gustav, thank you for commenting! I have also occasionally observed brighter miras in their maximum, for example during season 15-16 I was observing R Aql during it’s maximum. One of the key aspects for my selection of stars is that I can follow them during their entire cycle with one instrument, although it is fun to watch miras in their maximum too!

Leave a Reply

